10 Christmas films sure to put you in the Holiday spirit!!

Movie # 2 is… no other than… “It’s a Wonderful Life!”

images

Now, this film was a given and I’m sure you expected it to be on this list.  To my surprise once again, this was a film that got panned by the critics and didn’t do well in the theaters at all. “It’s a Wonderful Life” had such a bad opening that MGM Studios decided to release “A Miracle on 34th Street” in May, fearing it would also have a bad opening during the holiday season. Well, this was a genius idea because “A Miracle on 34th Street” ended up doing record numbers going into Christmas.

Regardless of how badly “It’s a Wonderful Life” did at the beginning, it would soon become a Christmas favorite and for a good reason. When I think of Christmas, this is the film that comes to mind. Frank Capra directed  a rare masterpiece here. I warn you, it is a long film and can get a little slow at parts, but the payoff at the end is nothing short of a Christmas miracle.

When you finish this film you will want to go running down the street screaming “Merry Christmas!” This movie really gets you into the Christmas spirit let me tell you. I cry every time I see it because the ending is so full of meaning and says so much about human kindness! If everyone acted like Jack Bailey does in this film, we wouldn’t have wars, poverty or hunger. Jack Bailey is everything I strive to be in life. No matter how successful I become, I always want to be humble like Jack Bailey. I think we should sit every greedy pig out there and make him or her watch this film! They probably wouldn’t get it but it would be nice to show them how human beings should really act and what Christmas is all about.

Don’t get me wrong, I love capitalism but I can’t stand it when people use this great system to excuse indecent behavior! I am tired of people screwing others over, knowing it’s wrong but hiding behind the excuse of it being business! Capitalism is not an excuse to screw people over and be a bad person. Sorry, on my soapbox again.

The Description– Jack Bailey had big dreams in his life. He was soon going to college and planning on making a real success of himself. But when his father suddenly dies, he is forced to take over his banking business and skip college all together. He stayed running the bank, marrying his high school sweetheart and having 3 kids. His life appeared perfect until tragedy striked and Jack Bailey sees his world around him come crumbling down on Christmas Eve.

In a fit of hysteria, Jack Bailey heads over to a bridge, planning to commit suicide. He jumps in the ice-cold water only to be saved by an angel named Clarence. Clarence claims he has been sent down by god to save Jack’s life. Jack, unconvinced, wishes that he never existed. He feels he has done nothing with his life and thinks that everyone would be much better off if he wasn’t born..

Well, the whimsical Clarence decides to give him just that. Jack Bailey gets a rare gift this Christmas Eve. He gets to see how life would have been if he was never born. He soon realizes that he had a much larger impact on everyone’s life than he thought and gets the biggest Christmas gift ever to be gived, his life back.

So if you are a miserly Scrooge, I suggest you watch this film twice, even though you probably wont get it. But just maybe something will sink in and you will conduct your life in a more humane way. Who knows, Christmas is a time for miracles.

But as for all you good people out there, this film is a must see for Christmas.  “It’s a Wonderful life” is sure to put you in the Christmas spirit and is apart of this Holiday just like eggnog, presents and missile toe.

Also, make my wish come true and help me get a following for my new television show I created called “A Seat on a Train” at www.aseatonatrain.com If you love “The Twilight Zone” then come over to my site and take “A Seat on a Train.”

Leave a Reply

