10 Christmas films sure to put you in the Holiday spirit!!

Movie # 4 is… One of my favorite Christmas films… National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation

Christmas Vacation

“Are you serious Clark?”

Yes I’m serious!!! I love this movie! I watch it every year and only once during the season, so I never get sick of it! This was written by my favorite Director from the 80’s, John Hughes and boy is it a Christmas gem! Everyone relates to this film in one way or the other. Be it families fighting, struggling with the tree, over doing your lights outside or being stiffed by your Boss with a crappy bonus! We have all been through it and there is no other film that portrays the horrors of Christmas better than this film. Then to top it all off, “National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation” is funny as hell!

My friends and I rattle off lines every season. “Yes it is, it’s a bit nipply out. I mean nippy out, what did I say, nipple? Huh, there is a nip in the air.”

I can go all day! If you haven’t seen this film then you are doing yourself a major disservice! Go out and rent it now! Actually it’s free on Netflix! What are you waiting for?

“Tis the Season to be Merry… Well, that’s my name… No shit!!”

Now it’s time to welcome in the holidays with some classic holiday comedy! This film is great for the whole family… well it has a couple of swears, but that’s about it. From beginning to end you will bust a gut as you watch Clark Griswold try to live up to his outrageous Christmas expectations. Then when you think it can’t get any funnier, good old Cousin Eddie comes to visit.

“Every time Catherine revved up the microwave, I’d piss my pants and forget who I was for about half an hour or so.”

And we can’t forget about senile Aunt Bethany. She is my favorite part of the film.

“Grace? She passed away 30 years ago…” “The Blessing… They want you to say the Blessing…”

So the Griswolds’ took a trip to Walley World in the first National Lampoon’s film and to Europe in the second. Now you get see what the Griswolds’ are like at home, celebrating Christmas. Audrey is played by the now famous Juliet Lewis and Rusty is no other that that kid from “Rosanne” and “The Big Bang Theory.” Sorry, don’t feel like looking up his name. Every  Lampoon film they cast new kids for Audrey and Rusty, who never seem to grow up for some reason or they keep on having new ones and naming them the same. I love how they never really explain this in the films. Genius.

“Is Rusty still in the Navy?”

Now I’m sure there are a lot of people scoffing at the fact this film is ranked above some true classics, but as foolish as “Christmas Vacation” can be, you can’t deny that great Christmas feeling you get at the end. John Hughes does it again, blending music, holiday activities and an explosive ending to catapult you into that needed Christmas spirit for this special day.

The Description- The Griswolds are at it again as we open up on the family going to get their Christmas tree. As with everything else, of course Clark, the father, has to over do it by hiking out into the freezing wilderness and picking a tree that is way to big for his house. They finally find the perfect tree only to realize they forgot their saw. So, we cut to the next shot, which is a tree that has been ripped out of the ground and tied to the top of their station wagon.

It all goes down hill from there as Clark Griswold takes his family on the Holiday ride of their life while trying to achieve the perfect Christmas. But a quirky family, rude stuck up neighbors, his low class cousin Eddie, Christmas lights that won’t light, a wrapped cat, a snotty dog, an over cooked turkey, a senile Aunt Bethany, cigar smoking Uncle Lewis and a bonus check that hasn’t arrived are all in his way as he tries to achieve this over zealous task.

“What’s that sound? You hear it? It’s a funny squeaky sound!” “You couldn’t hear a dump truck driving through a nitroglycerin plant!”

“Squirrel!!!”

So get out that eggnog and load a plate full of Christmas treats because you are about to maximize that Christmas Spirit with this film. If the Griswolds can’t get you into the Christmas Spirit, then I have a huge task ahead of me. But don’t forget, I still have 3 more films to accomplish the task at hand. You will get into that Christmas Spirit even if I have to send three ghosts to visit you on Christmas Eve!

“Oh, I was just smelling – smiling. I was just blouse – browsing. I, uh, heh heh. Well, I guess it just wouldn’t… Oh hee hee, it wouldn’t be the Christmas shopping season if the stores were any less hooter than they – HOTTER than they are. Whew. It is warm in here, isn’t it.”

Also, come take a stroll down by my site called “A Seat on a Train.” If you love the old classic “Twilight Zones” then you are sure to love “Out of Place” the first episode of “A Seat on a Train” at http://www.aseatonatrain.com  Make my Christmas wish come true by watching my show. Merry Christmas!

 

Leave a Reply

