15 “Twilight Zone”episodes with the most shocking twists! Episode #13…

Episode #13… Night of the Meek (Season 2, Episode 47) On Netflix!

Night of the Meek

This is Mr. Henry Corwin, normally unemployed, who once a year takes the lead role in the uniquely popular American institution, that of the department-store Santa Claus in a road-company version of ‘The Night Before Christmas‘. But in just a moment Mr. Henry Corwin, ersatz Santa Claus, will enter a strange kind of North Pole which is one part the wondrous spirit of Christmas and one part the magic that can only be found… in the Twilight Zone.

Yes folks, I had to do it. It’s getting around that time and this is such a great episode for so many reasons. This is one of my favorite Twilight Zone episodes. Not only does it have a warm, fuzzy twist at the end, it also has that rare ability that only a handful of movies truly have the ability to do… that is put you in the Christmas spirit!

Yes, this episode is so good, it has that magical ability. The sounds of sleigh bells, christmas music, people shopping, even that great old movie sound that makes you think of classics like “The Bishop’s Wife,” “Scrooge” the 1972 version with Albert Finney and of course, don’t forget, “It’s a Wonderful Life.”  You know I’m doing my top ten favorite movies that put you in the Christmas spirit! I will get anyone in the Christmas spirit! I am a Christmas fanatic! I do all the traditions and dream of the next holiday coming. I even get depressed and a sunken heart feeling when it’s all over. Yes folks, I am that much gone. Anyway, back to the movie.

But yes, this is a great episode, with a great cast and a cheerful theme. The twist is not a shocker, that is why this episode ranks so low in this category. But trust me, this is the only category this ranks low in… Well, it wouldn’t rank at all in the scary categories… you know what I mean…  So lets get to the Episode.

Episode description– A down and out drunk Henry Corwin gets tossed out of a bar dressed up as Santa on Christmas Eve. He stumbles to his mall Santa Claus job drunk and an hour late. After a customer complains, Henry is fired from his job. Henry stumbles down the street seeing all the poor in shelters and homeless kids on the street. He says if he had one wish on Christmas Eve, he would want “the meek to inherit the earth.”

Then suddenly he stumbles upon a sack. He opens it and it’s full of presents. He discovers that this sack is magical and gives people what they ask for. So naturally, the selfless Henry starts acting as Santa and giving out presents to all who need. He skips around making everyones’ Christmas wishes come true. But this does not come without a price. For the police and the department store manager want to know where he got all these goodies he’s handing out. But when they take the sack to the police station, all they find is a sack full of garbage…

I will tell you no more! I can’t! I will spoil it! Now, I understand if you want to wait till Christmas to watch this, in fact, I recommend waiting. I have been watching each episode before I write about them on this blog, but I didn’t do that with “Night of the Meek!” This episode is too special and close to the heart. It is only allowed to come out on the most special holiday ever, with which celebration begins after Thanks Giving for me. No earlier… No later…

Also, don’t forget to check out “A Seat on a Train.” Let me know if you think it is like “The Twilight Zone.” Let me know what you think at http://www.aseatonatrain.com

Leave a Reply

